Portfolio Entry Organization

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    studioP

Hello 🙂
    I am having trouble organizing portfolio entries so that they show up only under specific pages. Currently when I create a new portfolio entry, it shows up on all pages that have the same portfolio template. How can I specify which portfolio entries show up only on certain portfolio pages and not on all of them? Thanks so much any tips would be appreciated!

livemesh
    Keymaster

This is probably the solution you are looking for –

https://www.livemeshthemes.com/support/forums/topic/getting-portfolio-with-slugs/

studioP

Hey thanks so much for your reply. I’m really new to this and have no idea what slug is or how to create it. Does this have anything to do with category creation? How can I create categories and link them specifically to my portfolio pages? Do I then use these created categories in the portfolio entries that I want to link to the pages? And will this be enough to separate the entries so that they show up only in certain portfolio pages?

I read where to apply the codes from your link but I’m not sure what text to edit in them and what code has to go into the Portfolio pages and what code has to go into the Portfolio entries to make them show up properly.

I have created some portfolio categories but don’t know how to use them to separate the types of entries so they show up only on certain portfolio pages. Thanks again!

livemesh
    Keymaster

You can create and assign portfolio categories in the sidebar of edit/add portfolio page as shown below –

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B9j6FQo4cSQFM3ZPVzB6TUp0V2s/edit?usp=drivesdk

These categories are sufficient to pull them into separate pages using the shortcodes I linked to earlier. The slug is used to create a URL for a category and you can see the slugs as shown below –

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B9j6FQo4cSQFM3ZPVzB6TUp0V2s/edit?usp=drivesdk