Theme Updates

Tagged: 

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    rubyandsass

Hi!

I received emails telling me there were updates to the theme. I just figured out how to create a child theme, but I’m wondering what information needs to be put in there to make sure none of my changes are lost. What about the information put into the option tree? Will that be changed if I do the updates? I’m pretty new at this and am just nervous to loose anything. Can I just copy and paste the style.css info into the child theme? Or does other information need to be copied somehow too? Sorry, to bother you with this, I’ve been scouring Google for answers and haven’t come up with many.

Also, my website is not working well via mobile devices. I thought it was a web hosting problem, but the blog posts feature images that are squished and I know this template should be responsive. Is it a theme fix I can do? Or should I be looking on my web host account?

Thanks!
    Megan

Raghavendra

The theme itself comes with a child theme bundled with it. Pls start from it and any customizations should be in the child theme style.css. The child theme will not be updated ever since it is just a template and example child theme for users to start with and hence any changes you make to the child theme should stay when you update the parent theme.

You should not lose any options you have set when you update the theme. Anyway, it is a good idea to export it through Option Tree tab and keep it as a backup just in case.

If you are having trouble with mobile devices, it is mostly styling issue (theme or any custom CSS you have used). Not much to do with hosting. Can you share the URL here (as a private message if you prefer)?

Hope this helps.

rubyandsass

I know I should be using the child theme, I’m just not sure which one/where it is. Is it the one that’s on the theme options panel?